Skip to content

My Edublog Awards Nominations 2011

November 29, 2011

Click here to get directly to the Edublog Awards page.

For the last few days, I’ve been fascinated by other bloggers’ nominations to the 2011 Edublog Awards. And now I feel I’m ready to make my own nominations, completely subjective of course – people and sites that have been particularly valuable to me over the last nine months or so since I have begun to be more active in the Tweeterverse in particular.

So here goes!  In most categories, I could have nominated two or three others, too…

  • Best individual blog: http://steve-wheeler.blogspot.com/ Learning with ‘e’s’ by Steve Wheeler, Associate Professor of Learning Technology, Plymouth University. He says: “I’m interested in how technology can be made to work for us, particularly in education and training” – and he does just that with always interesting, often challenging, well-researched and well-presented blog posts.
  • Best individual tweeter: @gcouros – great insights into the thoughts of a “Division Principal for Change” in a Canadian school district. What an educator!
  • Best new blog: http://pamobriensblog.wordpress.com/ Pam O’Brien followed through with her new (academic) year resolutions and has been blogging about using ICT in her work as a Maths lecturer, as a mother who accompanies her kids to Coder Dojo (which started me off going to Coder Dojo myself – although Pam took it further and is now teaching the younger kids Scratch there!), and much more. Great to read!
  • Best class blog: http://dans5thclass.wordpress.com/ This blog by Dan’s 5th class, Balbriggan Educate Together, is great. Written by kids from the class, weekly, informative, fun. Thanks for sharing, guys!
  • Best ed tech / resource sharing blog: www.anseo.net for relevant reviews, views and discussions
  • Most influential blog post: This is personal – Pam O’Brien’s account of Coder Dojo in Limerick in http://pamobriensblog.wordpress.com/ has changed the shape of my son’s (and my) weekends completely. Thank you, Pam!
  • Best twitter hashtag: #edchatie – I have learned an enormous amount of stuff by just following that hashtag (not just on Monday nights)!
  • Best free web tool: www.dropbox.com – love it, thanks for the tip, Dan! How did I ever manage without this super-handy tool to access your files across devices, from anywhere, and share with anyone you want to…
  • Best educational use of a social network: The weekly #edchatie Twitter chat, each Monday evening half eight to half nine… facilitated by the wonderful @fboss. Very educational, I try to fit it in if I can at all.
One Comment
  1. I am honoured to be included with such an amazing bunch of people! Thanks for the kind words 🙂

Leave a Reply

